Home > Uncategorized > The Jerry and Adam Show

The Jerry and Adam Show

It’s only January and the District III supervisor race is already turning nasty. Incumbent Jerry Lenthall sent out copies of a recent email exchange between himself and challenger Adam Hill.

I post the exchange without comment, but I welcome yours.

From: adam hill
Sent: Saturday, January 05, 2008 5:19 PM
To: jerry lenthall
Subject: Pismo Forum January 20th

January 5, 2008

Dear Jerry,

As you know, the Pismo Beach Chamber of Commerce has scheduled a public forum on January 20th for the 3rd District Supervisor’s race. They scheduled a venue, and made arrangements with AGP Video.

Unfortunately, we have been informed that you are refusing to participate, saying you will not agree to any forums until after the filing period.

As you and I are the only declared candidates, the only candidates raising money and enlisting support, your decision is arbitrary and seems guided only by a desire to forestall participating in public forums. If so, this is will be well publicized by my campaign.

Thus, I ask that you reconsider your decision, and furthermore, I ask again that you show my campaign the courtesy of providing your campaign’s contact person so that we can move forward in making arrangements for several forums.

If I do not hear back from you, I’ll call in to the Congalton show when you’re on this Friday and we can discuss it on the air.

Sincerely,
Adam Hill

*******************************

January 10, 2008

Dear Adam,

Let me begin by saying how disappointed I am at your combative and argumentative attitude. The people of the Third District deserve a campaign conducted with dignity and respect, not one of name calling and threats.

It seems to me presumptuous for you and me to arrange a debate before the filing period has closed. I understand that you disagree with my opinion, but I am entitled to my point of view.

Beyond the issue of the filing period, you have insisted that we participate in a debate for the Third Supervisor’s seat on a day that is two weeks before the presidential primary election and four and a half months before the local election. I don’t believe that there will be any public interest in local elections until well after the presidential primary. Again, you may disagree, but that is my belief and I think that most people would agree with me.

There will be plenty of opportunity for the candidates for the Third District seat to appear and be heard at public meetings. As I have told you before, I don’t think that it is your place, or that of your campaign’s, to set up a series of debates. I intend on participating in a reasonable number of debates that are arranged by civic organizations which have organized these debates in the past. As a sitting supervisor, I have many duties that occupy my time both during the day and in the evenings. I expect to continue to carry out those duties and to campaign at times that will not interfere with my obligations as a supervisor.

Finally, it is your prerogative to call into the Congalton Show whenever you like, but please refrain from attempting to threaten me. Again, the citizens of the Third District deserve better than that.

As your request, your campaign representatives may contact Amber Johnson at Jerry@jerrylenthall.com to discuss campaign issues. I trust that she will be treated respectfully.

Sincerely,

Jerry Lenthall

*************************

January 10, 2008

Dear Jerry,

Thanks for getting back to me. I understand you are busy, and I will take you at your word that you will participate in a “reasonable number of debates.” Despite your insistence that they not occur until after the filing period, it is still advisable to schedule them now for those dates after the filing period closes, as venue and video reservations need to be made in advance. I hope you will cooperate with this.

As for your remarks about me, we both know there is no substance to your claims. We also both know that when supporters of your campaign hired a law firm to investigate me, you could have put a quick end to it if you didn’t think it was appropriate. You responded that it was simply something to be expected.

Such actions, Jerry, are clearly an attempt to intimidate me, and if anything shows disrespect for me, my family, and yes, even the voters of District Three, it is hiring a law firm to contact my employer (multiple times), the non-profits for which I volunteer, and the schools from which I earned degrees. Obviously, you approve of this, and it sent a strong, early signal of the direction your campaign will take. That, Jerry, is what is truly disappointing. If you wanted our rapport to be friendlier, you would not have allowed this.

Neither my campaign nor my supporters have done or will be doing such things to you. I do not think such tactics are appropriate. It is still my hope that the District Three race will be a contest of ideas and issues, and that it will be conducted with complete honesty and transparency. I am certainly committed to that.

Sincerely,

Adam Hill

  1. Anonymous
    January 14, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    In their own words…

    Lenthal: Mature, in control, logical, common sense approach.

    Hill: Paranoid, childish, combative, scared.

    There ya have it. No spin! It’s like a lil slice of Fox News!

    Thanks Dave.

  2. Anonymous
    January 14, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Jerry’s reasoning sounds VERY logical to me. I for one AM paying a lot of attention to the Presidential debates & campaigns at this time. It’s just too early for local debates. Later, of course, I WILL be interested to hear them speak.
    Adam Hill sounds more than a little bit childish. I hope this does not reflect on how he conducts himself for the remainder of the campaign.

  3. Anonymous
    January 14, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Pretty immature behavior by Adam Hill. The voters are watching.

  4. onesue
    January 14, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    This is about as exciting and relevant as a New Times cover story.
    So these two guys don’t like each other.
    Yawn.

  5. SLOMIKE
    January 14, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I’ll be looking to position papers and debates, not spats or partisan swipes when making my vote in this election.

  6. Surely Bianchi
    January 14, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Jerry Lenthall stands tall and Adam Hill comes up short!

  7. Jim
    January 14, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    The guy who used to beat people up, and got the city sued a few times because of it—the guy who had brutality charges brought against him several times–this same guy is telling his opponent that he’s being too combative?

    Great afternoon laugh.

    I don’t know Hill from Adam, but you
    Lenthall lovers are really funny.

  8. Anonymous
    January 15, 2008 at 12:57 am

    Adam Hill’s e-mail appears to have been written by an elementary school bully with its unwarranted and, I’m guessing, misinformed accusations. What a waste of Lenthall’s time to even have to respond to that.

    Hill needs to get a new writer! (Or at least read what “he” is sending out) Geez!

  9. Downtown Bob
    January 15, 2008 at 3:34 am

    I for one respect Jerry Lenthal for his service to our community both as a supervisor and his previous service in law enforcement and his response to Adam Hill as shown here is certainly of a reasoned and mature approach. Perhaps Mr. Hill was a little hasty in his challenging Jerry to participate in this debate? Perhaps Adam read Jerry’s response and has reconsidered his stance; I certainly hope so. I for one would really like to see this race made about the issues and how they are addressed, not about personality differences. I believe this is Mr. Hill’s first political campaign, perhaps he just needs to adjust slightly to keep his approach on an adult level, if so I will support him whole heartedly.

    Dave, do you know if Adam Hill has responded to Jerry Lenthal’s response? It would be interesting reading if you could obtain it and post it here as well.

  10. katchoman
    January 15, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Mr. Hill seems to take it for granted that defeating Jerry Lenthall is going to somehow magically happen in June merely because Hill has entered the race.

    Another liberal college professor who thinks he has all the answers. Anybody remember Dr. John Ashbaugh or Dr. Larry Houlgate? Hill is running because Dr. Allen Settle is so despised outside of SLO that he had no chance of running.

    I have a question for Adam Anthill: How much teaching time are you going to spend on your campaign? How much will your students suffer because you’re out knocking on doors?

    Jerry Lenthall will win re-election and it won’t even be close. Why not? Because the libs always assume and we all know what happens then.

  11. greengirl
    January 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Although I considered supporting Adam Hill when he announced his candidacy, he has disappointed me repeatedly during this campaign. If this kind of behavior is what we can expect from him as Supervisor, then count me out.

    I don’t always agree with Jerry Lenthall’s decisions, but at least he’s always honest about how and why he makes them. This tree-hugger will be voting for Lenthall – a guy who plays by the rules.

  12. rumrunner
    January 15, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    This is the same “greengirl” who was cheering on Debbie Arnold in Dave’s post on her announcement?

    Honesty is obviously a different concept to you, which happens when you’re shilling for Republicans.

  13. Halcyon Harry
    January 15, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Hill showed arrogance not becoming of a future supervisor. How could anyone really argue with Lenthal’s response?

    Hill is very luck it is 4 1/2 months before the election, maybe some people will forget this.

    Lenthall 1, Hill 0.

  14. that'smystory
    January 15, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Hey HILL-ery, Jerry has no time for your childish banter. We all know he’s “busier than a one-legged man in a butt kickin’ contest”

  15. Anonymous
    January 15, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Adam Hill thinks that everyone else is responsible for his race. How about he do some of the leg work required by most elections. I see Lenthall at every event in the area, spaghetti dinners, ribbon cuttings, charity fundraisers. Perhaps his duties as Supervisor are lagging but one cannot deny he is out there in the public.

    What are you doing Adam? Wake up and hit the streets. Earn your votes.

  16. commiehater
    January 15, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    dave, thank you for helping to expose this commie, property rights stealing god hater.
    those poly types are all alike and we will not let another won try to steal our land.
    jerry is the best supe we’ve ever had because he makes no excuses for doing what’s right–letting our county grow and develop.

  17. Brett
    January 15, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Well, well, well I see the Republican/Lenthall machine is on top of this pretty quickly.

    Your “man” is going to have a harder time convincing the public that he isn’t in the pockets of the development community since his track record is exactly that.

    Oh sorry, I mean standing up for folks property rights. That sounds a lot better.

  18. linda
    January 16, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Adam is not a professor at Cal Poly. He teaches a couple of classes on a contract basis. He has lots of time for this sort of banter and he needs a full-time job which pays and has benifits. He’s desparate.

    Linda

  19. mayorme
    January 16, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Finally, Dave has taken the right side and supported Jerry. Sure, Hill may be your friend too, but despite your liberal tendencies on national issues, Dave, you know that Jerry is a great supervisor. Hill is a punk, and not all that smart either.

  20. Dave Congalton
    January 16, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Mayorme,

    I don’t know what you’ve been smoking, but you are mistaken in your comments on every level.

    I am NOT suppporting Jerry Lenthall. Nor am I supporting Adam Hill. I posted this email exchange withoout comment.

    Jerry and Adam are both friends of mine. They’re both good men. They are miles apart on the issues and it’s up to the voters to decide who will be elected in June.

    At the beginning of Tuesday’s show, I addressed the fact that I wasn’t happy that my radio show was being dragged into this race. I think Adam made a strategic mistake in threatening to call in to my show last Friday when Jerry appeared. I never would have taken his call under those circumstances.

    There will be plenty of time for debate in March, April, and May. We will certainly cover the race on Hometown Radio. Adam needs to shift the focus back to the issues and talk about what truly matters in the campaign.

    Finally, there is no need for the posts here to be so nasty about Adam Hill, a man whom most of you probably don’t even know. He’s not a “punk” .

    We can do better than that here.

  21. terryfrompismo
    January 16, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    sorry dave, but you helped create that liberal dead-beat, and now that he thinks he deserves to run against a great man like jerry lenthall, he needs to be put in his place–and thank you for having the courage to do that.

    what has adam hillary every done for anyone? how long has he lived here? does he even have a wife?
    he strikes me as a guy looking for a job, looking to find a wife, looking to make some big dough from campaign donors.

    we will beat him.

  22. truthteller
    January 16, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Seems like typical Republican party tactics to me. Have some law firm conduct a covert dirt-digging campaign and then confess innocence. Lenthall is in tight with Bordonaro, and that whole Meridian Pacific gang, so I’m surprised that Dave would favor him when he just had the investigative reporter on his show who helped expose that far right sleaze machine.

    My question is to Lenthall and his groupies: does Lenthall have nothing to hide in his past as a cop and contractor? He better hope so.

  23. Dave Congalton
    January 16, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    OK, Children ….

    Please stop with the personal attacks on Adam Hill. We apparently have one idiot who is doing multiple posts, all focused on derogatory remarks about Adam. They will not be published on this blog.

    Thank you.

  24. Anonymous
    January 17, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Dave, there is a clear line between personal attacks and expressing an opinion about behavior and positions of candidates.

    These posts are strongly worded but are in no way a personal attack. They are comments about candidate’s behavior, positions and actions that relate directly to this election. Most, if not all, is public information restated here in the context of how each candidate responded to each other.

    Blogs are for this purpose. A place to express “your” opinion about behavior and positions, and actions of candidates.

    Please stop trying to control comments. I for one can sort things out for myself, and when in doubt I can do my own individual research.

    Personal attacks are intended to personally hurt or damage a candidate. I see none of these comments as such attacks.

    When you post direct quotes verbatim in emails you open each and both up to public scrutiny. Of course pro candidate bloggers will align with their candidate in how they see the facts. But that is why I come here. To see and hear how others are responding.

    That is something greatly missing from our current national debate about who will be the next President.

    Let it roll, and let “US” decide that which we will digest, pontificate or dismiss.

    Thanks, Dad, but I have a mind of my own and use it frequently.

  25. Dave Congalton
    January 17, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Anonymous,

    You’re only seeing the posts that make it on to the blog. You don’t see all the personal crap that I filter out. In the last two days, someone has attempted to post personal attack after personal attack on Adam Hill. No arguments, just personal attack.

    If you disagree with someone fine, but try to focus on the argument. I’m not against dismissing someone as a “joker” or “clown” — I use those terms myself. Nut this language was much more personal, much harsher. I won’t accept it against either candidate.

  26. English Teacher
    January 18, 2008 at 3:37 am

    Good for you Dave. Let’s keep it positive. I would however, request that you investigate where Mr. Hill earned his degrees. I have never seen such poor grammar and punctuation. This guy is an embarrassment to education. He is also very negative in his illiterate communications.

  27. Anonymous
    January 18, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Why don’t you do like other blogs….and have the readers “report” something that is inappropriate? That would take a lot of pressure off you AND it would let others see ALL the posts…not just what YOU think is appropriate.

  28. greengirl
    January 18, 2008 at 5:56 am

    A quick note to “Rumrunner” –

    Haven’t been on line for a couple of days, but thought I’d set the record straight – I’ve been a registered Dem since I turned 18 (a LONG time ago). I’ve even worked for several Democratic presidential candidates.

    Not being a fan of Adam Hill or Jim Patterson doesn’t make one a “Republican shill”. I would have assumed that a Congalton listener would be better informed (and perhaps less judgmental)…..

  29. Jerry Hill
    January 19, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    One interesting fact that no one has pointed out except for Times Press Recorder is this: Lenthall originally agreed to the Pismo Beach forum and then HE PULLED OUT.

    Why did good ole Jerry change his mind? Sounds to me like he was avoiding being asked the tough questions.

  30. Rich from Paso
    January 22, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Dave? Where you been, brother?

    How come you are still leading with the Jerry and Adam Show post when you could be leading with a post on the state of race relations in America, or SLO, or Martin Luther King’s message 40 years later and where we are to fullfilling his dream. How about the growing feud between Barak Obama and Hillary Clinton and the fact that she has Bill out there slurring Obama so she doesn’t have to. There is the split in the Republican party between the McCain/Huckabee populist side versus the Romney/Thompson conservative side with Giuliani in the middle. You haven’t posted on Iraq for a while. What’s the matter? Nothing to say since the war has been taken off the front-page given the success of The Surge? What about the economy? How is the subprime mortgage crisis affecting SLO county?

    I check in daily to see what is new and, sadly, nothing has been new for a week.

    Just looking for something fresh.

  31. Dave Congalton
    January 22, 2008 at 5:59 am

    Rich,

    You’re right. No disagreement. I just made a new post. Another one about race on the way.

    I’ll try to do better.

    Dave

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

