Channel 2 Public Excess

I will be away from Hometown Radio Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, spending some R&R in Arizona. If there was any doubt that I needed a break, I’m certainly ready now after 1-2-3 separate segments last week devoted to Channel 2, the public access channel on Charter.

What a zoo! Alberto Gonzales couldn’t mess this place up any more than it is. Last Wednesday we heard from Ron and Leslie Bearce and then Michael Passarelli and Monique Matta responded on Friday. I don’t think I’ve ever heard such wall-to-wall name calling in the 15 years of Hometown Radio. If you’re a masochist, be sure to check out the podcast for either segment. And we also featured Lip Sync Queen Peggy Penny on Tuesday.

To be honest, I’m not sure I can sort it all out. All I know is that things are so bad among the “producers” that Charter General Manager Ed Merrill kicked the public access people out of the building. Then they were kicked out of Temple Beth David and are now meeting in a SLO park. It’s in-fighting, in-fighting and more in-fighting.

From what I can piece together, there seems to be one faction led by Ron and Leslie Bearce. For awhile, they seemed to have almost every other show on Channel 2 — they were even showing repeats of old shows from the ’80s with them doing interviews. The Bearces claim they were helping minorities have a voice in public access. Their detractors claim the Bearces were monopolizing the programming and were on a huge ego trip.

So there were elections to the governing board and all the reform candidates won. None of the Bearce people were elected. The Bearces are claiming discrimination and they’ve been protesting. Allegedly the protests got out of hand and the couple were suspended for 90 days. But given the extreme comments made by Michael Passarelli about the Bearces, I find it hard to believe they’ll ever be back.

But here’s what I want to know: Why is there so much religious programming on public access???? Nothing against any church in particular, but it just seems like show after show is some guy behind a podium wailing about Jesus. Can’t we have some diversity in the programming?

So I’m done on this topic and I’m leaving for a short vacation. Talk to me about public access. Do you watch any of these shows on Channel 2? Any thoughts on Pasarelli vs. Bearce? Let ‘er rip!

Oh and here’s something else to mull over: did you know that the USA PATRIOT Act is an acronym for:
“United and Strengthening America by Providing Appropriate Tools Required to Intercept and Obstruct Terrorism”? Scary.

  1. Shawno
    May 20, 2007 at 8:45 am

    I think that there’s so much religious programming on public access simply because the churches have the time/resources to produce it. Public access TV where I used to live in Illinois was the same way.

  2. Todd
    May 20, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Most of the shows on that channel are watched because they are so bad and so badly produced that they are hilarious. I have friends who when they visit insist on watching Rick Martel for comic relief; and then there’s that ego-monster Passarelli who runs clips from his ‘comedy’ class, which are either starkly unfunny or inaudible.

    I say let Passarelli, Martel, and Ron Bierce fight it out in a death match of talent-less, pathetic, wannabes.

  3. Anonymous
    May 20, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Does anyone really watch public access? Heck, when I need my fix of badly produced television, I just watch the local news.

  4. Kyle
    May 20, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    I’m glad the Bearces are off the channel. They were always on the station. Huge ego trip!

    It’s PUBLIC ACCESS, folks!!!!!

  5. Thomas W
    May 20, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    One of the nice things about being Dave’s producer, is that I sit on the other side of the glass, remaining relatively safe from flying s— (you know, stuff)while Dave faces the challenge. I was amazed at the lack of civility and/or clarity of issues. I listened to all three hours and am still in the dark as to who did what to whom. Or, for that matter, for what reason. It seems to me that they need a referee with some degree of impartiality to preside over everything, a public media Czar or something like that. As things stand now, I don’t hold out much hope for public access TV.

  6. Walter
    May 21, 2007 at 4:51 am

    Family Bearce was a local icon way before David
    started working for Klear Konglomerate

  7. golfingslo
    May 21, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    I have to agree with Tom. I listened but could not figure out what the hell was going on and who did what to who or who the bad guys are. I only have on thing to say to all the channel 2 people…IT IS FREAKIN PUBLIC ACCESS TV, you are not producing 60 minutes. Remeber Wayne’s World on SNL it was spoofing all the public access shows and people.

    I will also agree with Todd, sometimes you watch because it is so bad you have to laugh.

    On the church shows, Dave, if they are turning down other content in favor of church shows I would have a problem with that. If church shows are the only new show ideas they are getting, then other people need to step up and produce different content

  8. cynek in 5 cities
    May 22, 2007 at 3:31 am

    I used to watch “Rescue Me” when it was on every day on Channel 2. And you may recall–The Sheriff’s Animal Control Department never had to put down any animals a couple of years ago. Then Channel 2 decided to cut back on the Rescue Me shows; I couldn’t keep track of when the show was on anymore–I think I’ve caught it twice in the last year. Meanwhile, more animals have had to be euthanized. Is there a correllation here? You bet! Channel 2 lost their audience. Channel 2 needs to get rid of the stupid shows, including those repetitive religious ones–and start showing the ones that have real value. And I vote for “Rescue Me”. Please show it …daily at 9 AM and 11 PM, again! What a great service that would be! If there’s a God, he’d approve of that program!

  9. Hoosier21
    May 22, 2007 at 7:48 am

    There’s a channel 2?

  10. Joan
    May 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Passarelli is an insufferable moron, with a bad temper and a huge ego.
    He’s also the least funny “comic”
    I’ve ever had the displeasure of seeing.

  11. billyD
    May 25, 2007 at 3:40 am

    wow while you were gone they sead mother f____r AND tom sead nig, in 15 min, and they still have a job I called in and it was a new board op
    dont you have three buttons to stop that.wow you eather have power our no listeners or yuor show _____ ____

  12. marianne
    May 25, 2007 at 4:17 am

    If loyal viewers cared about channel 2, why would someone not try to get Lois Capps involved to broker a fair deal for Passarelli and Bearce.

  13. Trav is SLO
    May 25, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Do you really think Tom should have been deleted too because he used the work nigger? He was using it in the context of saying how ignorant the person who said it was.

    The MFer comment was a little worse. My 12 year old is usually listening to the show on her way home from school with my wife. We don’t like that language and try not to be there when it occurs. I know it was just a slip and not intentional. Let’s not get the government involved here people. Get real.

    Since Dave won’t do it, I am formally requesting a show about the recent torture by the terrorists in Iraq. I am sure that Marilyn would like to come in and tell us why it is not all that bad. Michelle can tell us how it is our fault that they torture. Here is the link to their training manual.

    http://www.thesmokinggun.com

  14. Marilyn
    May 27, 2007 at 4:10 am

    Torturing people is not acceptable (to me at least) no matter who is doing the torturing and no matter who is being tortured.

  15. Anonymous
    May 30, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    is putting pantys on your own head self torture marilyn?

  16. Anonymous
    July 22, 2007 at 1:59 am

    Uhh I love my grandpa, Rick Martel, so shut up! THANKS TODD. People don’t need to offend my family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

