Home > Uncategorized > Everyone Take a Deep Breath

Everyone Take a Deep Breath

Short, but important, post before I turn in. This blog is starting to get downright ugly because some of our bloggers are getting way too emotional and far too personal. Please take the rhetoric down a few notches. I’ve already had to delete a few comments and I won’t hesitate to continue that policy.

Try to stick to facts, opinions and arguments. Bob from SLO should be your model. Don’t get angry. Don’t make personal attacks. Please. This is not the Michael Savage Show. We are capable of better. Please. Thank you.

Don’t forget that the photos from Antarctica on still on display at http:www.920kvec.com/photos.

Next Tuesday, Arroyo Grande Andy returns with his Bible. A week from this Thursday, it’s Rep. Lois Capps.

  1. JerryDinAZ
    February 14, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Dave Congalton said….
    Try to stick to facts, opinions and arguments. “Bob from SLO should be your model”. Don’t get angry. Don’t make personal attacks. Please.

    WELL IF THAT’S THE CASE…LOOKS LIKE PERSONAL ATTACKS ARE STILL IN, FACTS DON’T MATTER, AND ANGER IS APPROVED AS WELL…

    Bob from San Luis said…
    To the last anonymous commentator: I would assume that you mostly mean Jerrydinaz when you say to stop watching Faux News; here’s a flash for you, Jerry doesn’t have the sense to be embarrassed by his comments. The further out there he gets, the more “points” he scores in his own fantasy world. This is classic troll behavior, but Jerry cannot accept that he is a troll. Sad really.

    Bob from San Luis said…
    Jerry: Pull your head out of your nether regions, please.

    Bob from San Luis said…
    JerryD: Nice try.. You truly are pathetic. Do you have to try to be idiotic, or does it come naturally?

    bob from san luis said…
    Screw you buttwipe. Let’s see you feed a family of four on a f*ing hot dog stand?

    Bob from San Luis said…
    JerryD: Do you remember when you where on Dave’s show last time and I called in? I complemented you for your intelligence, and generally tried to be nice to you; I guess that when you are on the phone to San Luis Obispo some of the mentally healthy “air” of San Luis county somehow seeps through the phone to you and you sound reasonable and articulate. Perhaps it is just that you have to say what you are thinking and don’t have time to mull over a thought to have it come out in your speaking like the general pettiness and nastiness that comes through your comments here.

    Bob from San Luis said…
    JerryD: Thank you for continuing to spew your screed of hate and bile;

    Bob from San Luis said…
    Rich: I do understand the term “denuded”; I am just concerned that Jerry will wet his pants at seeing that term here on Dave’s blog. 🙂

    Bob from San Luis said…
    As for Jerry, Otis and any spineless anonymous commenter who wants anyone who questions President Bush or the Republican agenda to “love it or leave it”, please, grow up.
    Bob from San Luis said…
    Rich, Rich, Rich: Republicans NEVER hated Clinton. Where you on drugs during the nineties?

  2. Dave Congalton
    February 14, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Jerry,

    Point taken.

    OK, EVERYBODY lighten up — even Bob in SLO.

  3. Bob from San Luis
    February 14, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    Dave: As you can see by Jerry’s comment, I am not without blame here. The only saving grace that I might have here is, I don’t use curse words, and if any of my remarks are personal (like towards Jerry), I do try to keep them at an adult level. Whether or not that is the case is open for everyone else’s opinion. Another point about my comments about Jerry and his interpretation of my remarks; it seems any disagreement with Jerry or his viewpoints will be labeled by him as “hate”- Jerry, here’s a clue; I don’t hate you, you are not worthy of hating. I find you distasteful and immature so I pity you, but please believe me I don’t hate you. Hate is a very strong emotion that I display only when it is absolutely unavoidable, and I don’t hate very often, or, if I can help it, not at all. Don’t take this the wrong way, but you are not someone I feel a need to hate. Hate is not a “family value”.
    Quote number four was not me, that was some troll pretending to be me. Immediately after that incident I obtained my blogger account so that when I post you will see my name in the highlighted “blue” color. As I said, I do not talk like that, I do not write like that. That was not me. Period. Dave knows which business I run downtown, it is not a “hot dog cart”.

  4. Anonymous
    February 14, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I agree….all you angry bloggers…how about taking a break and doing something NICE & UNEXPECTED for someone today? Maybe you know someone who is lonely or sick or sad, hungry or homeless, someone who might enjoy a random act of kindness on this Valentine’s Day….Even if it’s just a SMILE or a phone call…get creative. See how the MAGIC can change someone else’s day. You will be surprised at how it can change your day as well! HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!! Now go do some MAGIC!!

  5. golfingslo
    February 14, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    Dave now that I have taken a deep breath, can I let it out?…I am turning blue.

  6. Anonymous
    February 14, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    Bob from San Luis said…
    Jerry, here’s a clue; I don’t hate you, you are not worthy of hating. I find you distasteful and immature so I pity you.

    Even in a blog post about not attacking, Bob can’t help himself! The evidence is above.

    I hope all you liberals can now see what the right means by your unbridled HATE!

    This is almost unbelievable! But there it is in black and white!

  7. Rich from Paso
    February 14, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Okay, so we have established that everyone needs to take a deep breath and be nicer to each other, especially to Jerry. Now how about you all take a deep breath and try to show a modicum of respect for our president? You may not have voted for him, but he is the guy flying around the world representing this country of ours. Personally, I don’t think you all have it in you to be civil to the president. I would be willing to bet anyone $10 that at some point in time someone, might even be Dave himself, calls Bush a series of nastiness that they wouldn’t level on child molesters. None of us know him or have had any contact with him on a personal level and yet you all feel free to talk about him as if you have some personal insight on him and his life. I am NOT defending him or his policies as he acts as Presdient and Commander-in-Chief. But if this is supposed to be some clarion call for more civility on this blog, it should be extended to everyone, to include the President. For you, Dave, to call for civility and still level unfounded slur after unfounded slur at the man when you have ZERO evidence to support your claims undermines civility and makes you out to be a hypocrite. In return, those of us on the Right should be more respectful to folks like Obama, Hillary, etc etc. which I am prepared to do. But the name calling of people who can’t defend themselves is where the lack of civility begins. Like my momma used to say, if you have nothing nice to say about someone, don’t say anything at all. I’m sure this will fall on deaf ears, but it is worth a shot at trying to broaden this call for civility.

  8. Hugh Jass
    February 14, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    I think the real issue here is when a posting becomes a personal attack. Some postings by THEIR very NATURE invite personal attacks. Perhaps if all of us, ESPECIALLY THE YELLERS, were to tone it down and engage in civil dialog, there would’nt be the need for getting personal. However, it is extremely frustrating to try to rebut certain POSTERS when some of THEM eschew dialog and instead POST more inflammatory, quick-hit statements. I’m not condoning getting personal, but sometimes it seems that is the only recourse we have.

  9. America
    February 14, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Dave,
    If someone blogs that Jerry has 10 times the intelligence of George W Bush, is that a personal attack?
    thanks,
    America

  10. JerryDinAZ
    February 15, 2007 at 1:32 am

    SEE DAVE?
    YOU’RE NOT GOING TO REIGN IN THIS BEHAVIOR.
    THEY HATE TOO MUCH. AT THIS POINT IT’S ALL THEY KNOW. SAD BUT TRUE.
    THANKS FOR TRYING

  11. rob in los osos
    February 15, 2007 at 2:08 am

    Jerry

    Please don’t just blow this post off as more hate, but, are you surprised that you get so many personal attacks? Do you really expect that, given the tone of your posts, that you would get anything else? I am trying to have a dialog with you, so please respond.

  12. rob in los osos
    February 15, 2007 at 5:02 am

    dogma

    thats not doing anybody any good

  13. Bob from San Luis
    February 15, 2007 at 5:14 am

    Okay, okay, I give. Jerry is not immature and inflammatory, his remarks are. In my opinion. I apologize for commenting in an immature manner. Jerry, I promise to treat you like an adult; can you return the courtesy? Thank you for your consideration.

  14. Marilyn
    February 15, 2007 at 6:48 am

    Dave,

    I just saw your Antarctica pictures for the first time. Every single one of them is awesome. That part of the world is truly beautiful, but I am a rain lover and I love cold weather. I couldn’t help but wonder why you all were dressed brightly the same. Safety reasons I presume.

    An equally beautiful place I visited a few years ago was Corsica (Ajaccio). I only stayed four days on my way back from Lebanon (I needed a break after that trip) but the country had so much history with the mix in cultures (French, Italian, and Moroccan). You could also see the results of internal conflict with the bombed out buildings and the armed police all over the place. There were a lot of WWII artillery pieces left behind on the cliffs and a fort or two. I had a chance to see some beautiful caves by boat in the Mediterranean.

    I also liked the pace and the smallness of everything. I would recommend that part of the Mediterranean for a visit.

    You have me set now on thinking of a trip to the South Pole. We’ll see.

    The penguins were cute too, by the way. They are such funny and resilient creatures.

  15. Jerrydogma
    February 15, 2007 at 7:12 am

    “dogma

    thats not doing anybody any good”

    Let’s be honest. Jerry is jerk. He deserves everything that is thrown at him.

  16. JerryDinAZ
    February 15, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    CONTROL OF THIS BLOG HAS BEEN LOST

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

