Home > Uncategorized > Celebrating Our 15th Anniversary

Celebrating Our 15th Anniversary

Hometown Radio began 15 years ago today and I just want to thank everyone — guests and callers — who participated in our special show on Friday. True to form, we had something for everyone during those four hours: A dog up for adoption, John Lindsey, a classic visit from Miss Etiquette, political analysis from Cathy Boggs and Larry Martinez, a lovely musical tribute from Victoria Lowrie, Jerry Dagna being Jerry, and the closing songs from Bob & Wendy. I enjoyed every minute of it and this show was easily the best anniversary celebration we’ve done.

I also want to thank Ben Greenaway (I think) who came up with the idea to turn my original broadcast from January 7, 1992 into a podcast. Check it out at http://www.920kvec.com. We only have the first 45 minutes because the engineer forgot to flip the tape. By the way, the crappy opening music is George Winston. I cringe every time I hear that opening, but it keeps me humble and reminds me how far I’ve come in 15 years.

We had so many guests and so many calls on Friday that I wasn’t able to say everything I had planned, but nor do I wish to belabor things. I just want everyone to know, whether you agree or disagree with me, that I am truly honored to have this job and that I honestly believe this is the job I was meant to have. Even though KVEC is up for sale, I believe Hometown Radio remains in good hands and I look forward to the next 15 years of serving the community. Thank you for listening, for supporting the show and for supporting this blog as an additional way of keeping the dialogue going.

  1. Joe Benson of KPRL
    January 8, 2007 at 4:30 am

    Congratulations on 15 years of not only insightful radio … but service, much needed, to the entire Central Coast community.

    You’ve come a long way from the Tribune…and the Gazette! (just kidding…)

    It took us 9 of those years before we ever connected, but now, I am proud that you are one of my favorite people on the planet and a good friend.

    You’ve enlightened us, you’ve supported us, you’ve pissed us off, you’ve comfored us and you helped us think about the issues, the values and the mish-mash of controversies that shape our community, nation and world through the years.

    Happy anniversary, David, and from an admirer and a colleague…here’s to many more successsful years from the Congalton Media Compound.

  2. marilyn farhat
    January 8, 2007 at 5:36 am

    Thanks for all your hard work Dave. The value of your program lies in the fact that in caters to everyone in the community. Unlike most other shows, people from different leanings and beliefs listen to your program because of the diverse points of view that are welcome no matter how small or important the issues. It showcases all aspects of our county and its politics and people.

    Keep it up.

  3. Robyn by the Bay
    January 8, 2007 at 5:39 am

    Dave-
    It was a pleasure to listen on Friday, especially that first broadcast.

    It is always a pleasure to hear your voice on the airwaves. Thank you for your insight, the information you provide and for your true love of the central coast.

    It is an honor to know you and I look forward to many more years of Hometown Radio!

  4. JerryDinAZ
    January 8, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    KUDOS DAVE!
    CONGRATULATIONS ON 15 YEARS OF HOMETOWN RADIO! YOU HAVE BECOME A BEACON FOR THE CENTRAL COAST, AND A “MUST LISTEN” BROADCAST FOR ANYONE THAT CARES ABOUT WHAT IS GOING ON.

    OVER THE YEARS YOU HAVE SHARED YOUR BULLY PULPIT WITH GRACE, STYLE, AND GENEROSITY. YOU HAVE DEVELOPED MANY FEATURES AND LOCAL PERSONALITIES THAT HAVE ADDED TO THE CORNUCOPIA OF YOUR SHOW.

    I SEND YOU MY BEST WISHES FOR THE NEXT 15 YEARS! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK! IT’S GREAT TO BE ABLE TO LISTEN LIVE FROM ARIZONA AS I KNOW MANY THAT HAVE MOVED OUT OF THE COUNTY DO. THANKS FOR THAT.

    THE PODCASTS ARE JUST PURE BRILLIANCE! IF YOU MISS A SHOW OR WANT TO STORE SOUND BITES OR KEEP PERMANENT RECORDS OF EXACTLY WHAT IS SAID THEY MAKE THAT POSSIBLE.

    YOU ARE DEFINITELY IN YOUR GROOVE NOW. ALL OF YOU HARD WORK WILL NOW BRING FORTH PERSONAL AND COMMUNITY FRUIT BEYOND DESCRIPTION.

    AS SOMEONE THAT MOVED AND MISSED THE BROADCASTS MY FERVENT HOPE THAT THE FOLKS OF SLO COUNTY REALIZE WHAT THEY HAVE AND SUPPORT YOU TO THE FULLEST.

    CHEERS MY FRIEND! JOB WELL DONE AND GETTING BETTER!

  5. Adam Hill
    January 8, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Considering that our local media is getting lamer and lamer, we have to be very thankful for the Congalton show.

    Happy anniversary, Dave!

  6. Sandy in San Luis Obispo
    January 8, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    There’s not been a time in my memory that you ever turned me down when I had
    some axe to bear or gig to promote, for which I was and always will be
    grateful. Your knowledge of the local heartbeat of our community and its
    players, those well known and those common Joe’s, IS you and your show so
    keep your ear to the ground and your eyes to the sky for another successful
    15 years (can you imagine? You’ll be retirement age by then!).

    Even though I don’t listen in regularly I know many, many others do as I
    hear the buzz, particularly after a thought &/or emotion-provoking segment,
    of which you offer us many.

    I’m proud of you, your growth and accomplishments and pleased to be among
    your friends, hopefully on your “A” list as you are mine. One of my New
    Year’s resolutions is to tune you in more often when at all logistically
    feasible, not just because we’re friends (& you incessantly hound me for
    not!) but because you offer the only informed, thought-provoking “talk” on
    issues that matter to us all. Thank you!

  7. Alicia in Goldtree
    January 8, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    Congratulations David. It has been a incredible journey. While we were celebrating you’re 15 years on KVEC, the 3,000th U.S. soldier died in Iraq.I am so proud of you in these times, yet saddened by the mess that is Iraq.

  8. Rich from Paso
    January 8, 2007 at 9:42 pm

    Congratulations on 15 years and best wishes on your next 15 years. Your show is the readio equavalent of the old “New Times”.

    Dovetailing off of Alicia in Goldtree, I have created a new blog called Reporting From War-torn California where I will be taking articles daily from the LA Times on the events of LA and California and recasting them in the same light and using similar verbage as given by the Mainstream Media on events in Iraq. You all should check it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

