Home > Uncategorized > Trying to Support Downtown SLO

Trying to Support Downtown SLO

Happy Wednesday everyone! Tom and I are back from our four days off today. Gotta love those three day work weeks. We’ve got some good segments planned, including new talk show host Clark Howard tonight, Atascadero mayor Tom O’Malley on Thursday and some of the new employee/owners of Law’s Hobby Shop on Friday.

The folks from Law’s want to come on and give me heck for comments I made on the radio last week. I tend to jump around to different stores in terms of my shopping habits. For groceries, I’m almost always at Spencer’s or Trader Joe’s. For hardware, I’ll always give Miner’s first crack at my business. I’ve only been in Costco once in SLO. Otherwise, it’s just a retail crapshoot as to where I go.

But last week I needed some basic gift stuff for Charlotte’s birthday. A birthday card. A nice picture frame. Nothing too complicated. I decided to go to Law’s because I wanted to support a downtown business. I was in and out in less than five minutes. Their greeting card section had been slashed in half. I was surprised how empty the frame shelf was. I found one nice frame, buit balked at paying $22. Left empty-handed, determined to avoid having to go to Michael’s?

Hard to compete with the major chains when they’ve got the Big Three: Selection, Price and Evening Hours. We’ll get into all that on Friday. Hope you’ll join us on Hometown Radio!

  1. Terri from SLOtown
    July 5, 2006 at 6:30 pm

    I shop at Michael’s in Marigold Plaza. Why? Simple. I work in AG during the day and Michael’s is open at night. Open at night, you get my business.

  2. Shawno
    July 5, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    I bought a pair of sunglasses today from the Long’s in downtown SLO. I think I’m going to return them, though. I know that’s barely relevant to what’s been written here, but it’s all I’ve got.

  3. Rob in los osos
    July 6, 2006 at 3:25 am

    Jerry
    I’ve been following your posts for some time now and have thought of posting several times with clever and witty responses, but I’m glad I didn’t for a couple reasons. First, humor and intelligence would just be lost on you. Second, you obviosly don’t value what others think of or say to you, hence the allegiance to all caps. So in a language that you can understand:

    YOU ARE A RACIST (remember the time you were on Dave’s show and you said that the reason there is so much crime in Santa Maria is because of all the Mexicans?)

    YOU ARE A PLAGIARIST (Remember waaay back when Ann Calhoun did her “Calhouns Cannons” audio spots on Dave’s show, and you wanted your own spots as a sort of other-side/rebuttal? Remember how you ‘presented’, as your own, a piece of literature that was going around the email circuit? Gee Jerry, that seems pretty unethical,don’t you think? Good thing you weren’t being paid for those spots, or you would have broken the law.

    Jerry, I said it before and I’ll say it again – you moved to Arizona for some very specific reasons. Maybe you need to re-examine those reasons. You tout Phoenix as such a great place to live, yet you seem to not be able to let go of this area. I understand you like the ‘hometown radio’ feeling and community, but you are no longer a part of that community. Maybe you could get involved in some local groups down there. There must be local KKK, Aryan Nation, or John Birch Society chapters in the greater Phoenix Metro area.

    Rob

  4. Anonymous
    July 6, 2006 at 3:57 am

    Jerry
    ‘Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.’
    Wow, I expected a little better constructed response from the Great JERRY DAGNA. Jerry, I don’t think I was being foolish – I presented arguments based on past knowledge of your actions and comments. Does that mean you don’t wish to deny or disprove that you’re a RACIST and a PLAGIARIST? So, we can just dismiss anyone we don’t agree with by calling them a fool, or impugning their intelligence? No wonder you’re so enamored with the current administration.

    Rob

  5. Rob in Los Osos
    July 6, 2006 at 5:04 am

    So JERRY was so committed with his response to my post that he DELETED it after posting it. What a baby. For those of you who always ask yourself, ‘what would JD do?’ here’s what HE POSTED:

    ‘ROB,
    PROVERBS CH26 V4′

    which is “Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.”
    So to add to the list we have
    JERRY DAGNA:
    racist
    plagiarist
    chickens#%T
    Rob

  6. The New Tone of San Luis Obispo
    July 6, 2006 at 6:22 am

    Why is everyone so mean to Jerry D? I cannot read what he posted. Besides it was probably in capital letters, who knows. Poor Jerry, the heat effecting his little libocrat head.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

