Home > Uncategorized > Welcome Clark Howard

Welcome Clark Howard

Phil Hendrie signed off last Friday after 16 years of doing his crazy characters and giving us the most unique radio to come down the broadcasting pike in decades. I admit that I’ve never been able to listen to an entire Hendrie show, but I will miss him on the drive home to Nipomo.

Last night, we unveiled syndicated consumer affairs talker Clark Howard, who will now be on KVEC weeknights from 7 to 10. I caught the first hour and Clark seems bright and articulate, though he and I will have to talk sometime about his pro-Wal Mart cheerleading. Many KVEC listeners have asked for us to pick up Clark Howard and I’m glad we have something relatively non-political to continue offering in the evening. By the way, Clark is scheduled to appear on my show a week from Wednesday at 5 p.m.

Speaking of Wal Mart, Atascadero mayor Tom O’Malley has agreed to appear on Hometown Radio on Thursday, July 6th at 5 p.m. to talk about how Atascadero lost Trader Joe’s and whether or not a Wal Mart Super Center is indeed coming to Del Rio Road. There is talk of putting the question on the November ballot for Atascadero — I think it’s a great idea to let the people vote on a project this big.

History fans will want to be sure to tune in Friday when military history buff and author Jack Greene returns to discuss the American Revolution. Always a good segment when Jack is on.

Don’t forget to check out our streaming and our podcasts, also on this site.

  1. Anonymous
    June 28, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    “Don’t forget to check out our streaming and our podcasts, also on this site.”

    Would appreciate links to the podcasts and the streaming radio show from your blog page!

    Thanks for the upgrades, I appreciate being able to review the recorded shows.

  2. Anonymous
    June 30, 2006 at 2:33 am

    THIS IS jerrydinaz. I CAN’T SIGN IN NOW. I FORGOT TO SAY, I ROCK. I AM A NOT A LIBERAL. I LIVE IN ARIZONA BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO STAY IN SAN LUIS OBISPO. I WANT TO STATE, FOR THE RECORD, THAT IF KVEC HAD CLARK HOWARD ON THE AIR BEFORE I MOVED, I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO FIGURE OUT A WAY TO BE ABLE TO STAY HERE. OUT!

  3. Kirk In SLO
    June 30, 2006 at 5:01 am

    Brett; Dude, lighten up. Would you prefer, instead of him using capital letters, that he post the way John Kerry talks (long, drawn out, like he’s giving the Gettysberg Address even when he’s ordering a club sandwich)?

    You do know that by getting so visibly peeved, you’re only encouraging him, right?

    Jerry: WE MISS YOU, MAN. KEEP CALLING INTO DAVE’S SHOW AND TELLING THESE LOSERS WHAT A CESSPOOL SLO IS BECOMING!

  4. shawn
    June 30, 2006 at 8:11 pm

    I was never a big fan of Hendrie. And I need to check out these new Internet-audio features from KVEC. It’d be cool to get Dave’s show as a podcast. I’m always working during his show. Also, if you’re into podcasts, check out Hyper Nonsense. It’s an entertainment/music podcast that’s produced right here in SLO.

  5. Anonymous
    July 3, 2006 at 6:46 am

    I miss Phil. This new guy Howard is OK. Sort of dry, but he does seem to have lots of good ideas. I just wish he wouldn’t spend so much time with each caller. Those things go on forever!

    But glad that KVEC didn’t stick another political show on the air, Left or Right. Too much of that crap on already!

  6. Anonymous
    July 3, 2006 at 11:16 pm

    Another show destined for limbo. I’m sure the Clark-ster is a solid, great guy…but, c’mon. An ongoing show devoted to zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

    Hendrie was a true master. Someone who understood the power of radio and the theatre of the mind. There’s nothing else out there like his show…and, unfortunately, there will probably never be another…

    THANKS FOR CHECKING IN, JERRY! DON’T FORGET TO USE YOUR “SHIFT” KEY ONCE IN A WHILE. IT WILL HELP YOU WRITE IN lowercase AS WELL.

    HASTA…

  7. Anonymous
    July 5, 2006 at 6:00 am

    I hear that the president of Cuesta’s favorite movie is “Get Shorty.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

