Home > Uncategorized > Upcoming Guest Hosts

Upcoming Guest Hosts

Charlotte and I are heading down to San Diego for a few days of R&R. It’s been a draining month given everything involving our dog Snoops and this will be our only shot at vacation before Snoops comes home on Feb. 6th. After that, well, we won’t have much free time. I’ll be away Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, though Tom will be holding down the fort.

In terms of guest hosts, I’ve tried to put together a diverse mix. MONDAY: former KVEC news director, KSBY assignment editor and our resident media critic Conni Gordon takes over from 3 to 5, followed by my KVEC predecessor Betsey Nash from 5 to 7.

TUESDAY: Gary J. Freiberg drives in from Los Osos to handle the 3 to 5 spot and then Robin O’Leary makes her debut as a guest host from 5 to 6, talking about the sad state of medical care. At 6 p.m. we’ll cut away and give you the president’s State of the Union Address.

WEDNESDAY: My favorite guest host Pastor Doug comes back and gives away free stuff from 3 to 5. Doug is my hero and we’re proud to have him on the show. Then I predict the phones will be hot and heavy from 5 to 7 when conservative Larry Davis visits from Paso Robles. Larry is articulate and passionate and I think he’ll do just fine behind the microphone.

OK, note here that I’ve got 50% women guest hosts. I repeat here what I’ve said on the radio many times. How come Rush never invites a woman to guest host for him? Have you EVER heard a woman guest host for Rush Limbaugh? Odd, don’t you think?

On Thursday, Supervisor Shirley Bianchi joins me in studio and then on Friday Assemblyman Sam Blakeslee visits.

I’ll send you a postcard from San Diego. Promise.

  1. Anonymous
    January 27, 2006 at 5:32 pm

    Could it be that mr Limbaugh has security issues? Some men are threatened by women of intelligence. A man who is secure within himself will often, also, marry a woman that is, at least, as intelligent and articulate as he is. I imagine that if one were to examine Mr. Limbaughs marriage history one would find a lot of chaos.

  2. chuck in atascadero
    January 27, 2006 at 8:25 pm

    I believe Rush-bag has been married at least three times. I think Dave has a point here. I’ve never heard a woman on Rush either, but it’s not like I listen to that dickhead much!

  3. Rich from Paso
    January 27, 2006 at 9:46 pm

    Dave, Rush has Dr. Walter Williams, who happens to be a black man, guest host his show. I think Rush deserves just a little credit on the diversity front. I do agree that no harm would come from having someone like Inga Barks, who appears on 580AM from Fresno, guest host at least once. She’s pretty good. Have fun in San Diego.

  4. Bob from San Luis
    January 28, 2006 at 8:45 am

    Rich, so Rush having a black man on his radio show is showing diversity? Okay; and as far as Inga Barks, I just googled her, most of the hits flagged her as “in the mold of Rush”(although Rush is pretty mouldy). Yeah, Rush does a great job of being balanced; but I am referring to his staying vertical.
    Rich, I do find it curious that you feel a need to defend Rush from Dave’s comments, I’m sure Rush couldn’t care less about Dave’s or my or even your comments, unless he thought you were making “points” for his type of viewpoint. Oh well, we are in America where we can speak our minds thanks to the freedoms guaranteed by the Constitution to which you and all other veterans and current military personal swear to protect and defend, thanks.

  5. Rich from Paso
    January 28, 2006 at 7:05 pm

    Bob,
    Dave likes to poke Rush in the ribs for not having a female guest host. I was poking Dave in his ribs for only focusing on the male/female ratio of his guest hosts. You’re right, Rush has probably never heard of Dave Congalton and couldn’t care less. But I’ll tell you what I’m going to do: I’m going to e-mail Rush and ask him why he never has a woman as a guest host and if he replies I will post the result.

  6. Dave Congalton
    January 28, 2006 at 8:24 pm

    Rich and Bob,

    I appreciate the exchange you’re having on the question of Rush and women guest hosts (or lack thereof). Obviously I agree with Bob. And Rich, please understand, I’m not attacking Rush, but I am curious as to why no women are allowed to guest host his show. This is, after all, 2006.

    Blog on!

  7. Rich from Paso
    January 28, 2006 at 8:31 pm

    Dave,
    As soon as Rush writes me back, we’ll all know the answer to why the no women guest hosts thing. It’s all in good fun among friends.
    Enjoy your vacation.

  8. tom madsen
    January 29, 2006 at 1:53 am

    Ha, the last time Dave went away, he never even got me a lousy t-shirt. He did give me one heck of a birthday party though!

  9. NewsstandGreg
    January 31, 2006 at 5:47 am

    Have a greaaaat vacation, Dave and Charlotte! Try a visit to the Hotel Del Coronado. It’s romantic!

    Maybe old Rushbo could schedule the lovely Ann Coulter for a guest host stint!

  10. The New Tone of San Luis Obispo
    January 31, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Poor Rush,

    I wonder if he is a regular listener to the Dave Congleton Radio PROGRAM, or is it show? Let’s see, Hannity show, Johnny Carson Show, And the Dave Congleton Show. Hmmm, wonder how often Howard Stern has a guest host? I wonder how many times Dave Congleton has had a gay guest host. Maybe he has problem with gays? There sure are plenty of gay people around here that know how to talk. What about poor guest hosts. We have had many very rich guest hosts, DAve must not like poor people! What about boring hosts. There are plenty of boring host I am sure, oh wait, we have those when we have radio tradio and people try and off their old stained matress for 15 bucks.

    Point: Perhaps no female guest hosts have signed up to be Rush Guest hosts, or whatever.

  11. Dave Congalton
    February 1, 2006 at 6:28 pm

    Dear Doctor for Dummies,

    I can tell you this much — whether it’s a local or a national radio show, the host picks his/her guest hosts when they go on vacation. They have absolute veto power.

    And, by the way, I have had gay guest hosts on my show.

    I continue to find it interesting that Rush doesn’t trust women behind the microphone.

  12. Barry in Los Osos
    February 2, 2006 at 5:39 am

    Hate to say it, Dave, but after hearing some of your guest hosts this week, maybe Rush is right after all about no women!

  13. Anonymous
    March 29, 2006 at 7:36 pm

    Hey Dave Hope your feelin better with your voice. Check out this movie coming to the Palm. It’s gonna be good http://www.americangun-movie.com/showtimes.htm
    Thanks John

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

